And So It Begins

Hey there. How’s it going?

 

I decided to start a blog, because I always have 1001 ideas and thoughts and stories running through my head, but especially stories. And because I love to write, I figured there was no better way to share those stories with my friends, family, and strangers, than a blog. I’m not sure how much traction this is going to get, but I know this much.

My mom always told me that it didn’t matter what I was going to be when I grew up, but I was going to write about it.

“I’m going to be a firefighter!”
You can be whatever you want to be, but you’re going to write about it.
“I’m going to be a police officer!”
You can be whatever you want to be, but you’re going to write about it.
“I’m going to be a journalist!”
You can be whatever you want to be, but you’re going to write about it.

And so I am.

This blog is important to me. I’m going to be open and honest, because someday, my daughter might read this. And although I will do all I can to keep her happy and healthy and loved, she will have questions. Questions about her past, my past, our family’s past. And maybe I’ll be here to answer those questions, and maybe my parents will be here to answer her questions, and maybe they won’t. So this will exist for her to read through and digest, and then I will be ready and waiting to answer any remaining questions she (or you!) have honestly, and with love.

Because honesty breeds communication, creativity, and community. But without the addition of love, honesty is brutal. How many people have heard the statement, “Well, do you want me to be honest?” and have known that the response isn’t going to be positive? Or how many people have heard “I’m just being honest” after the speaker has just said something cruel? There is an added emotion of fear and resentment attached to honesty that I don’t want to exist here. But who knows? Maybe no one will even read this.

 

The phrase “heartbeat in my fingertips” immediately came to mind for my blog name, because when I’m nervous, or anxious, or upset, I can feel my heartbeat in my fingertips. And trust me, there is nothing more nerve-wracking and exhilarating then opening yourself up to judgement in a BLOG.

 

So with all this being said, this blog will be a collection. Stories, poems, thoughts, recipes, ideas, rants, raves, letters. Buckle up kids, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

 

I’m just being honest.

 

-Natasha

Leave a Reply

