Spring Break!

I’m a teacher, so I get the joy of having spring break, and the current school district I work in gave us TEN DAYS of spring break (if you count the weekends).

I spent Friday running errands, cleaning, and unpacking. I spent Saturday planning Little Miss E’s first birthday party with a dear friend, and then on Sunday, Miss E and I went with my mom to visit my grandmother in Arkansas. (More to follow on this at a later date.)

On the following Friday, I was unsure what I wanted to do. I figured Miss E and I would hang out together, maybe sleep in, maybe go out to lunch. Oh no.

From the time she woke up, she was only mildly content. By mid-morning, she was fussy as could be. She didn’t want her milk, she didn’t want a nap, she didn’t want cuddles…I almost reached the point of taking her to her daycare so they could have a turn with the fussiness (except I would have had to load a fussy baby into a car seat and drive across OKC), when I finally deposited her into her playpen and walked away.

THAT STINKER JUST WANTED TO PLAY BY HERSELF!

I felt a mixture of emotions. Happiness, relief, sadness, disappointment, pride…And I moved on.

I came up with a genius plan. I would make E playdough that she could eat and not die. Wonderful! I am across this great playdough recipe on Pinterest (which can be found here), and decided to amend it to fit what ingredients I had in my cabinet.

17342280_10154271492571073_257073007_o

This playdough. was. awesome.

17342267_10154271492781073_311623500_o

Not only was it an amazing texture, it was super easy to make.

17379936_10154271492926073_1327686310_o

My Little One is still a little unsure about certain textures, and even she played with it. I ended up cutting up a plastic trash bag and taping it to our floor so she could sit and play with her playdough.

17357288_10154271493116073_110826191_o

So without further ado, please enjoy my favorite baby playdough recipe ever. I changed it slightly, because this is what worked best for us.

Edible Playdough
1/2 c baby cereal (I used Gerber oatmeal)
1/2 c cornstarch
1.5 T vegetable oil
1/4 c water
Food coloring

Mix baby cereal and cornstarch until well combined. Add oil, water, and food coloring all at once. Mix well. It’s very sticky, and I found the color blended best when I did this step by hand. Mix until it’s smooth and easy to shape. If it’s too wet, add a tiny bit of cereal and knead again. If it’s too dry, add a TINY bit of water. Play with your ratios as necessary.

The original recipe says this can be kept in the refrigerator for a few days, but that didn’t work out well for us. I don’t recommend trying to save it.

Thanks for stopping by! More to come soon ❤

-Natasha

 

Leave a Reply

